Wednesday, December 28, 2016

Small Admissions by Amy Poeppel | ARC Review

Small Admissions by Amy Poeppel
Publisher: Atria/Emily Bestler Books
Publication Date: December 27, 2016
Genre: Adult, Contemporary, Women's Fiction
Source: Received eARC from Publisher through Netgalley
Find on Goodreads

Goodreads Description

For fans of The Nanny Diaries and Sophie Kinsella comes a whip-smart and deliciously funny debut novel about Kate, a young woman unexpectedly thrust into the cutthroat world of New York City private school admissions as she attempts to understand city life, human nature, and falling in love.

Despite her innate ambition and Summa Cum Laude smarts, Kate Pearson has turned into a major slacker. After being unceremoniously dumped by her handsome, French “almost fiancĂ©,” she abandons her grad school plans and instead spends her days lolling on the couch, watching reruns of Sex and the City, and leaving her apartment only when a dog-walking gig demands it. Her friends don’t know what to do other than pass tissues and hope for a comeback, while her practical sister, Angela, pushes every remedy she can think of, from trapeze class to therapy to job interviews.

Miraculously, and for reasons no one (least of all Kate) understands, she manages to land a job in the admissions department at the prestigious Hudson Day School. In her new position, Kate learns there’s no time for self-pity or nonsense during the height of the admissions season, or what her colleagues refer to as “the dark time.” As the process revs up, Kate meets smart kids who are unlikable, likeable kids who aren’t very smart, and Park Avenue parents who refuse to take no for an answer.

Meanwhile, Kate’s sister and her closest friends find themselves keeping secrets, hiding boyfriends, dropping bombshells, and fighting each other on how to keep Kate on her feet. On top of it all, her cranky, oddly charming, and irritatingly handsome downstairs neighbor is more than he seems. Through every dishy, page-turning twist, it seems that one person’s happiness leads to another’s misfortune, and suddenly everyone, including Kate, is looking for a way to turn rejection on its head, using any means necessary—including the truly unexpected.

My Thoughts

When I started reading this book I was really confused. After reading the description I thought the main focus would be on Kate and getting her life back on track but that wasn't the story line we were following in the beginning. It took maybe halfway through the first chapter to fully understand what was going on. I struggled a little to get into the story, partially because of this and partially because it was told in 3rd person (it's not my favorite) but I'm glad I stuck with it because I really ended up enjoying the story.

I don't know anything about the setting personally but it seems realistic. I had some personal issues with some of the characters, mainly their personalities, but I think that shows how strong Amy Poeppel's writing is. The characters I disliked/had problems with were true to themselves while trying to move forward and grow as time passed.

This was my first time exploring this genre and I would definitely be willing to try more. I really enjoyed the humor and there were times where I actually laughed out loud. I think Amy Poeppel did an amazing job showing just how much life can change in a year. Small Admissions is a strong debut and I'm looking forward to reading more from this author.

ORDER HERE: Amazon | Barnes & Noble | Books-a-Million | IndieBound | Apple | Blio | Google | Kobo

Enter Giveaway Here

About the Author

Amy Poeppel is a graduate of Wellesley College. She lives with her husband and three sons in New York City, where she worked in the admissions department of a prestigious independent school. She workshopped a theatrical version of SMALL ADMISSIONS at the Actors Studio Playwrights/Directors Unit. She later expanded it into this novel.

No comments :

Post a Comment